Skip to main content

Belk Library Digital Collections

Browsing items in: Buildings and Spaces Collection

(15 results)



Display: 20

    • Alumni Field House

    • Alumni Field House
    • November 14, 2009
    • The Alumni Field House houses administrative offices for the athletics department and many facilities for student athletes. The Field House is located on the north end of Rhodes Stadium. Pete Lembo (former Elon head football coach) argued that to...
    • Carlton Building

    • Carlton Building in 1998
    • June 22, 1923
    • The destruction of Elon College’s Main Building by fire on January 18, 1923, also destroyed most of the college’s library collection. Housed on the second floor of the building was the college’s one-room library and reading room; according...
    • Carol Grotnes Belk Library

    • Belk Library
    • March 11, 1998
    • By the mid-1990s, it was very obvious that the Iris Holt McEwen Library was woefully inadequate as Elon College’s library. The college was growing and progressing as an institution; the student body was not only increasing in size, but in...
    • Carolina

    • Carolina Residence Hall in the 1950s
    • May 28, 1955
    • The Board of Trustee minutes from January 19, 1954, states that “consideration was given to the recommendation for proceeding with the matter of securing loan from a U.S. Government Agency for dormitories and dining room.” Carolina was one of...
    • Harden Dining Hall

    • Harden Dining Hall in 2002
    • October 27, 1967
    • Harden Dining Hall, located in the Harper Center, was constructed in 1967-1968. It is part of the larger living-dining facility in Harper Center that also includes Staley and Moffitt Residence Halls. The Elon College Board of Trustees approved a...
    • Harper Center

    • Harper Center in the 1960s-1970s
    • October 27, 1967
    • Harper Center was constructed in 1967-1968 and was the new living-dining facility on campus that also included Harden Dining Hall, and Staley and Moffitt Residence Halls. The Elon College Board of Trustees approved a new living-dining facility to...
    • Hook Brannock Barney

    • Hook Brannock Barney Residence Hall in the 1960s
    • October 13, 1965
    • At the October 24, 1964 Board of Trustees meeting, it was recommended that among other buildings, a new men’s dormitory be built “as soon as possible.” This new building would replace South Dormitory, which was to be removed completely from...
    • Iris Holt McEwen Library

    • McEwen Library in 1968
    • November 4, 1966
    • The 1960s brought many changes to Elon College, not the least of which was a new library. With one reading room that could only seat one hundred students at a time, Carlton Library was now too small to serve the growing college of 1200 students....
    • Martin Alumni Center (MAC)

    • R.N. Ellington Health Center in 1996
    • 1938-1940
    • The Martin Alumni Center (MAC) is located on the corner of Haggard Avenue and O'Kelly Avenue on Elon University's campus in Elon, North Carolina. Records show that in October 1965, a gift agreement was set-up between Algier Lloyd Rich, his wife...
    • O'Kelly Monument

    • O'Kelly Monument in 1980
    • 1926-1929
    • The O’Kelly Monument stands between Alamance and Long Buildings on the Elon College campus. The monument was named after James O’Kelly, founder of the Christian Church in 1794. In 1926, the Southern Christian Convention voted to erect a...
    • Sloan

    • Sloan Residence Hall in 1964
    • Summer 1960
    • In 1960, after one of the older women’s dormitories (Ladies Hall) was demolished, the college made financial arrangements to construct what was to be called New Dormitory for women on the site. Construction began in the summer of 1960, and the...
    • Smith

    • Smith Residence Hall in the 1950s-1960s
    • January 1957
    • In May of 1956, the Board of Trustees decided in favor of constructing a new residence hall for men. Construction on the new dormitory began in January of 1957 and was completed during the fall of the same year. It opened for student occupancy on...
    • The Old Well

    • The Old Well in 1961
    • 1889
    • The Old Well was constructed in 1889 and was Elon College’s primary water source until 1906. It was also the water supply for the Town of Elon. The Old Well received its name because of its long history and age -it is considered the oldest...
    • Virginia

    • Virginia Residence Hall in the 1950s-1960s
    • May 28, 1955
    • The Board of Trustee minutes from January 19, 1954, states that “consideration was given to the recommendation for proceeding with the matter of securing loan from a U.S. Government Agency for dormitories and dining room.” Virginia was one of...
    • West

    • West Residence Hall in the 1940s
    • 1905
    • In July 1905, Elon President Emmett L. Moffitt persuaded the Board of Trustees to borrow money from the Farmers’ Bank of Nansemond “for the purpose of building a new Dormitory, or adding to the old Dormitory, or both, the proper equipment of...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK